St. John Valley Soil & Water Conservation District


Home Contact Us


Every Soil and Water Conservation District in the country is directed by a Board of Supervisors.  These local volunteers set the priorities for the District and help direct the staff. The SJVSWCD Board of Supervisors are elected for a three year term to protect the St. John Valley's natural resources.  If you are interested in serving on the Board please contact the District for more information.

The District Board of Supervisors generally meet on the third Tuesday of each month at

6:00 p.m. 

Meetings are open to the public and we encourage your participation! 

Please contact the District office to learn more: (207) 834-3311, Ext. 3.


David Potter, Chairman, Allagash

Duane Theriault, Co-Chair,  St. Agatha

Kurt Coulombe, Treasurer, St. Agatha

John "Gene"  Desjardins, Van Buren

Peter Smith, Van Buren

Associate Supervisors

Thomas Schneck, St. David

DISTRICT OFFICE STAFF... Providing Local Assistance 

NRCS STAFF ... Providing Technical Assistance

Eric Giberson: District Conservationist

Kelsey Ramerth: Soil Conservationist

Alex Zetterman: Soil Conservationist

FSA STAFF ... Providing Program Assistance


Betsy Gagnon, Loan Program Technician

Donald Audibert, Farm Loan Officer

Lisa Gagnon, Lead Program Technician


All programs and services of the Soil and Water Conservation Districts and the USDA are offered on a nondiscriminatory basis, without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, political belief, gender identity, sexual orientation, or marital and familial status.